Come pray

My body is a temple, it has a graveyard attached to it and sometimes mourners will knock on the gate, enter, leave flowers and leave again.
My body is a temple and I hear footsteps in the hollow halls when I try to sleep.
My body is a temple, songs are being repeatedly sung until the words have lost meaning and it is nothing but a muscle memory.

My body is a temple, the deity is a woman burning whilst cursing everything.
My body is a temple, the deity is long gone.
My body is a temple, the deity was never here.

My body is a temple no one prays at.
My body is a temple too many people have prayed at.
My body is a temple and the basket for donations feel shame.


My body is a temple and people argue the importance of science over religion whilst walking it’s halls and kneeling.
My body is a temple and it’s foundation has been rebuilt so many times and yet there are cracks in the ceilings, the water is not working properly and there are things in the walls.
My body is a temple and it’s crumbling as people argue it’s validity while sitting right there, right there on it’s steps.

My body is a temple, you my religion.
My body is a temple, my heart an atheist.
My body is a temple, a fleshy, horrible temple and I’m sorry.

My body is a temple and it’s altar is made of mugs of sea water and things on fire.
My body is a temple, it attracts cats that sleep on the stairs, nap in the windows and jump on the roof.
My body is a temple that wants to be a woman that wants to be a monster that wants to be a god.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

