I use the word forever like other ships use anchors

It frightens me that I love you so much I will hold your hand and support you through any road you take even if it leads away from me. 
There are ways I have loved before, like a needy child, like a stranger in the night.
I wanted to love you like a thief, steal your heart and be gone before you could miss me.
But in your hands I found anchors instead of burdens, and in your mouth I found reassurances instead of demands. 
I’m not asking you to get my name tattooed on your wrist or to propose to me when we’re both sober and I’ve been crying. 
These are the things I’ve ran away from, the men who say forever like it’s a rope they want to hang themselves with. 
But there is a duality inside me, along with the woman who loves you through it all and recognises the reality of our hearts is the girl vibrating with the ache to be enough for you,
the all or nothing girl, 
the lets live together just you and me in a small cottage by the sea girl, 
the girl who snarls when someone else touch you.  
I’m not the Tequila and shot gun marriage kinda girl so you can breathe easy around me, but some nights I’ll dig my nails into your thighs and pretend that forever doesn’t sound so unattainable.

Through cities and alleys I’ve found my way to your table, my hands have found your jaw and it’s enough. You’re enough. 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “I use the word forever like other ships use anchors

  1. This was so good. especially the line, “But in your hands I found anchors instead of burdens, and in your mouth I found reassurances instead of demands.” Great job!

  2. I absolutely love all of your work! I just read this poem again and noticed the line, “but some nights I’ll dig my nails into your thighs and pretend that forever doesn’t sound so unattainable” and I am in awe of your ability to incorporate such eloquence. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

