The feast.

She was sitting on the steps outside, rolling a joint and saying she wanted to change her name to summer. I tried not to speak condescending words, I only smiled and she laughed and said it was ok if I thought she was crazy, she thought she was crazy too. Her boyfriend came out the door, he wasn’t wearing a shirt, but half his right shoulder was covered  in a tattoo, some words snaking themselves down his arm. I said it was nice, he said nah it was shit but it was there now, a bit like him. I leaned against the brick, anxious in my desire to understand them and yet could see myself running away already. I was offered a smoke, but I had my own, I sipped from a bottle of something bitter and started scanning the crowd gathering around them. A man came up, shook my hand and said “ah, yes, I heard you would be here tonight, good good!” and then he disappeared again, I only saw him once more later when he was standing over the girl, gleam in his eyes and he was still muttering. “yes, good good!”. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

The feast.

She was sitting on the steps outside, rolling a joint and saying she wanted to change her name to summer. I tried not to speak condescending words, I only smiled and she laughed and said it was ok if I thought she was crazy, she thought she was crazy too. Her boyfriend came out the door, he wasn’t wearing a shirt, but half his right shoulder was covered  in a tattoo, some words snaking themselves down his arm. I said it was nice, he said nah it was shit but it was there now, a bit like him. I leaned against the brick, anxious in my desire to understand them and yet could see myself running away already. I was offered a smoke, but I had my own, I sipped from a bottle of something bitter and started scanning the crowd gathering around them. A man came up, shook my hand and said “ah, yes, I heard you would be here tonight, good good!” and then he disappeared again, I only saw him once more later when he was standing over the girl, gleam in his eyes and he was still muttering. “yes, good good!”. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

